John Perceval
John Perceval

John Perceval

Birth name:   Linwood Robert Steven South
Born: 1 February 1923 Bruce Rock, Western Australia, Australia
Died: 15 October 2000 (aged 77)  Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Nationality: Australia Australian
Field:  Painter, Ceramicist
Awards:  McCaughey Prize (1958), Wynne Prize (1960), Officer of the Order of Australia (1991)

John de Burgh Perceval AO (1 February 1923 - 15 October 2000) was a well-known Australian artist. Perceval was the last surviving member of a group known as the Angry Penguins who redefined Australian art in the 1940s. Other members included John and Sunday Reed, Joy Hester, Sidney Nolan, Arthur Boyd and Albert Tucker.